OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE REGULAR UNIFIED SCHOOL BOARD MEETING – The Unified Board of Education met in Bruning on January 11, 2023. Pursuant to laws and notices posted at Bruning-Davenport Schools, Cornerstone Bank, Bruning Bank, Bruning Post Office, Davenport Post Office, and also published in The Hebron Journal Register on January 4, 2023; all proceedings were taken while meeting was open to the public.

Vice-President Hoins called the meeting to order at 6:23 pm. Unified members present were Jerry Baysinger, Jamie Koch, Sarah Krehnke, Ryan Miller, and Sheri Norder. Local board members present were, Pat Kowalski, James Manes, Kevin Parks, and Ryne Philippi. Also present were Superintendent Kolin Haecker, Principal Damen Kugel, Erika Brinegar, and Sara Dierking. Staff members present were Beth Ardissono, Rick Ault, Jill Catlett, Alicia Hoffman, and Ruth Kowalski. Student present to observe was Gavin Hintz.

Vice-President Hoins welcomed all guests and recognized the Open Meetings Act.

The Consent Agenda included the agenda, minutes of December 12, 2022 Unified Board meeting, Treasurer's Report, and the January claims. Jamie Koch moved to approve the Consent Agenda as presented, seconded by Sarah Krehnke. Roll call vote (5-0)

Bruning Election Results: President – Ryne Philippi, Vice-President – Pat Kowalski, Secretary/Treasurer – Dan Domeier. Committee Members are: Americanism – Jerry Baysinger and Sarah Krehnke, Building and Grounds – Dan Domeier and Ryne Philippi, Transportation – Pat Kowalski and Sheri Norder. Membership to the Unified Board: Jerry Baysinger, Sarah Krehnke, and Sheri Norder.

Davenport Election Results: President – Kevin Parks, Vice-President – James Manes, Secretary/Treasurer – Brad Williams. Committee Members are: Americanism – Jamie Koch and Brad Williams, Building and Grounds – James Manes and Kevin Parks, Transportation – Jeff Hoins and Ryan Miller. Membership to the Unified Board: Jeff Hoins, Jamie Koch, and Ryan Miller.

Election results for the Unified Board Officers: President – Jerry Baysinger, Vice-President – Jamie Koch, Secretary/Treasurer – Sarah Krehnke.

The Unified Board appointed negotiation committee members: Certified Negotiation Committee – Jerry Baysinger, Sarah Krehnke, and Ryan Miller; Classified Negotiation Committee – Jeff Hoins, James Manes, and Kevin Parks.

BDS Coop Committee Members: Jeff Hoins, Jami Koch, and Sheri Norder.

Principal Kugel reported on the following items – The HS is looking for a 1^{st} semester community service project – A new 5^{th} grader from Fillmore Central – Lock Out/Lock Down Drill on January 5^{th} – The Patriot's Pen local and district winners were announced – Thayer County Health Services committed to cover the inflatables for the spring carnival.

Superintendent Haecker reported on the following – Legislature has started the 2023 session; school funding is one of the topics – School calendar – New Reading/ELA curriculum for next school year – January 5^{th} , both buildings had a secure and lockdown drill – He finalized his report with the school financial status.

Discussion item:

- A. ESSER Funding no public input
- B. After consideration and discussion, Koch moved to hire a Principal in Davenport, advertise for the teacher opening it creates, and for a full-time custodian in Davenport. Motion was seconded by Krehnke.
 (Roll Call Vote 6-0)

New Business: (All motions require a roll call vote and all carried 6-0 unless noted.)

- A. Ryan Miller moved to approve a \$950 increase to the base salary, increase paid out personal/sick days to \$75, and allow a staff member to get an additional personal day by giving up two sick days in the Negotiated Agreement for the 2023-24 school year. Seconded by Koch.
- B. Krehnke motioned to recognize BDEA as bargaining agent for certificated, non-supervisory employees for the 2024-2025 school year. Sheri Norder seconded the motion.
- C. Jeff Hoins moved to approve the Principal contract for the 2023-2024 school year, seconded by Norder.
- D. Krehnke moved to approve the Superintendent contract for the 2023-2024 school year, seconded by Miller
- E. Koch moved to approve the mileage reimbursement rate to \$0.655, seconded by Hoins.
- F. Krehnke moved to approve Kolin Haecker, Superintendent, as the District Non-discrimination Compliance Coordinator, seconded by Norder.
- G. Koch moved to approve Micah Dolnicek as a local substitute teacher, seconded by Hoins.

Koch moved to enter executive session "to prevent needless injury to an individual" at 7:43 pm, seconded by Krehnke. Koch made the motion to come out of executive session at 7:59 pm, seconded by Hoins.

President Baysinger adjourned the meeting at 8:00 pm.

Sara Dierking, Recording Secretary